Five Elements (Panchabhoota) Part-2

Comments: No Comments
Published on: June 15, 2013

Five Elements (Pancha Bhootas) – Further Deliberation

When we read about five elements one question comes to our mind. If this universe is created for the souls which are waiting for rebirth, then this universe must have pre-existed before the creation of this universe and got destroyed due to some reason. Then the question arises when was it first created? If God Supreme (Parabrahma) was the only entity that existed, then the only reason to create the universe would have to be due to the desires (regency) that existed in God Supreme. However, all our sages unanimously agree and accept that God Supreme is absolute and does not have any Saguna Chaitanya (desires or regency). That means that there always existed another entity (the one with regency) along with God Supreme. According to Vishnu Purana, after billions of years at the time of the deluge all five elements merge in one another and finally merge with God supreme. If we agree with this theory, we have to agree that God supreme gets surrounded with non absolute energy or Chaitanya.  Because any purified material cannot be 100% pure.  So as declared by our saints we have to agree that God supreme is immortal (existed for ever) and he has no beginning or end. Then because of some non absolute energy surrounding him, regency arose and he started creating this universe.

Through the union of Purusha (Parabrahma or God supreme) and Prukruthi (Maya) Mahat Tatva is created, and from that 30 million Gods have been created. Note that these 30 million Gods are not the same as Parabrahma, but they are part of the creation. So according to Hindu mythology, these 30 million Gods though appear to be Nirguna, they are not completely Nirguna as Parabrahma, they have some Gunas (Satva, Rajo, Tamo Gunas). That is why they have been attributed with the quality of Favor, Anger, Curse etc. They have also been given various forms such as male and female. When we identify Mahat Tatva in physical form we call it Chitta. So when we become one with Chitta, where Satva Guna (closer to Nirguna, described in Karma Siddhanta Part 3) is dominant, we get eternal bliss.

When regency surfaces in Chitta, three forms of Ahankara (Ego or thinking or attribute of self) are created. Ahankara with thinking ability is called as Mind (Manassu). This is nothing but special form of energy or Chaitanya. It is too weak in lower species and very strong in Humans.  Nothing can obstruct this, so it can control any of our sensory organs and make us to feel desire, sex, doubt, anger etc. Many treatises describe Ahankara with Tejas (absolute energy) creates Jnanendriya (intellect) and Karmendriya (physical organs).  But we should remember that these karmendriyas are made of Panchabhootas or five elements. Then what is meant by Jnanendriya or sensory organ? Sensory ability is known as Tanmatre. That is very micro organ which gives us the knowledge about that alone. For eg: If we smell any fragrance we feel happy. It is not possible to perceive it only because you have a nose. It is the ability of small organ and small nerve in it. But it has the only ability to inform you about odor. Here nose is Karmendiya, and the small organ with the nerve is Jnanendriya. Jnanendriya’s ability or energy in it or Chaitanya is called as Buddhi or Intellect. This buddhi has capacity to decode all forms of Tanmatras, or control all glands which are responsible for sensory behavior. So it does not require any medium to flow, just like mind. But it requires a medium to come to the limelight. When it comes to limelight it is called Tanmatra. Ahankara with Tamasa (Lethargic) energy creates sound. It is also a Tanmatra. But because it was created by mixing with Tamasa or lethargic energy, it requires medium. So as a medium for it, Akasha Tatva (Ethereal space) is created. As energy in Tanmatra form requires a medium, hence for the five Tanmatras five elements are created. Absolute energy within this tanmatras is Buddhi. So it can flow in any medium or it does not require any medium to flow. So its ability is greater than that of mind. But it has no control over mind.

That means from Tejas and Tamasa ahankaras, five sensory organs (ability to smell, ability to see, ability to hear, ability to taste, ability to feel of touch) and relative five physical organs have been created. So in all these organs we see the major role of Tejasa Ahankara, because any physical organ without sensory ability is useless. Here we should realize that Tejas that is Chaitanya, flowing in this universe plays a major role to influence our sensory organs. But the effect may vary for different species or different beings within the same species. This Tejas which we, in common mans language call light, has influence on human organs too. This light consists of 7 different wave lengths which has 7 different energies. Our saints have identified the sources of these lights which can have major influence on humans and nature.  Enumerating this influence is their major task and they have done it through Astrology.

Follow Me

No Comments - Leave a comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome , today is Friday, June 23, 2017