Theory of Deeds (Karma Siddhantha) – Part 1

Comments: Comments Off
Published on: July 19, 2013

Theory of Deeds (Karma Siddhantha) – The Concept

Foundation of Indian Astrology is Theory of deeds or Karma Siddhantha. Every human has his own nature and desire. The problems, happiness, sorrow, his challenges, his luck are all different. Why it is so? Indian saints tried to discover the truth behind it landed in Karma Siddhantha. It is also known as Sankhya Yoga. The God supreme is the root cause for all these things. He is within all living beings and he is the main energy or what is called as Chaitanya for doing all deeds. All living beings according to their deeds or Karma take birth in variety of species and enjoy or suffer according to their deeds or Karma as per his plan or rules.

That means what we are enjoying is the result of past deeds and what we will enjoy will be in accordance with our deeds of present life.

The three main beliefs of Karma Siddhantha are 1. Every living being must take rebirth 2. No living being can live without doing any karma for any moment. 3. Every living being must go through the results karma. Why? Because every living being under the influence of Desire, Anger, Greed, Ego, Jealousy and Love., which are called as, six fold enemies of man, create a cover on the pure soul due to which the soul gets a desire to experience these things. In philosophy it is called Vasana or inherited desire. Because of this all living beings fall in the cycle of birth and death. Actually breathing is also a karma. It is known as natural or Prakruthi karma. Thus every living being indulges in doing one or the other karma’s or deed. These karma’s are divided in three categories. 1. Prarabhda karma – the one we brought with our birth. 2. Sanchitha Karma – what we have done during this birth until now. 3. Agami Karma – what we may do during rest of our life. So naturally we may have to suffer the results in the next life.

That is why Bhagavadgeetha Says ”Karmanye vaadhikaarasthe maa phaleshu kadaachana”. That means you are only responsible to do the karma (i.e. you only have control to do the karma) but you cannot expect the results (i.e. you cannot control the outcome). It is decided by the God supreme. Then the question is, is it not possible to come out of the results of these karma’s? Yes, it is possible, it is known as salvation or Mukti. They have prescribed many  difficult ways and means to achieve it. If doing Karma is compulsory and we must suffer or enjoy its result, that means birth and death also become compulsory to all living beings. But one who does only good karma’s should come out of this cycle. Theory says one must take birth to enjoy the fruits of his karma. That is, one who does bad karmas takes birth to suffer and one who does good karma takes birth to enjoy the good result. Then how is salvation or mukti possible? Great saint Vidyaranya says “amuna vasana jale nishesha pravilapithe | samonmulithe punyam paapakhye karma sanchaye||” That means for one who attains samadhi (becomes one with God), all results of karma, good or bad, gets nullified. Ego and ignorance vanishes. That means the reason for the results of the karma is ego and ignorance. That means the result of the karma hurts us when we believe ‘I have done this’ i.e due to ego. If we dedicate all our karma’s to God supreme no result hurts us. But it can be truly achieved only when we achieve the state of Samadhi. It is state of true knowledge when no karma or rebirth disturbs you.

So, what is the rule according which one suffers the results of Karma? No one knows except the God supreme. According to Sage Parashara, God with the help of Stars and Planets who are his own creation and his facets, executes these things. That is why Parashara say’s Sun is facet of Rama, Moon is the Facet of Krishna, Mars is the facet of Narasimha, Mercury is the facet of Buddha, Jupitor is the facet of Vamana, Venus is the facet of Parashurama, Saturn is the facet of Koorma or Tortoise, Ascending node is the facet of Varaha or pig, Descending node is the facet of Matsya or Fish and all these are treated as his incarnations according to hindu mythology.

The three types of Karmas 1. Parabdha, 2. Sanchitha, 3. Agami are further sub divided into three divisions. 1. Druda karma or fixed or permanent karma 2. Adruda or movable karma, 3. Drudadruda karma or movable and permanent karma. Druda karma or permanent karma is one which we have done in the past life or what we have done knowingly and its results are already fixed, it cannot be altered, so we have to suffer it. Adruda karma is one we have done during this life or which we have done unknowingly. The results of these can be altered by rectifying our mistake, or by repentance, or praying god with all sincerity. Drdadruda karma is one we may be doing it in the future life or one we have done knowingly that it is bad, but forced to do it. So its results can also can be altered to some extent by rectifying the mistake later, or repentance, or praying god sincerely.

The karma, man is doing every moment is divided into three categories. 1. Vaachika or spoken 2. Manasika or one he thinks of 3. Sharirika or one he does physically. The Vachika- means what we talk without considering it may hurt others, or intentionally to hurt others for selfish motive. Or to tell the lie for helping other, or tell lie even though we know that it will harm the other. Thus talking can be of three type Druda, adruda, and Drudadruda. Similarly Manasika karma can be of three types. Think to do good, think to harm others, planning some thing without thinking it may hurt others. Similarly Sharirika karma may also be of three types, that is to serve others for common benefit, without self benefit, serve others for own benefit, with or without benefit to others.  serve others to hurt them. or with only selfish motive.

Druda-Adruda-Drudadruda karma’s are classified again into three categories because of the effect they produce. 1. Satvika 2. Rajasika 3. Tamasika (also called trigunas – 3 gunas). Satvika karma (Satva guna) is that, to do the karma for the mere benefit of others without any selfish motive. Rajasika karma (Rajo guna) is that it will benefit others but at the same time protects the interest of the self and does not harm any body. Tamasika karma (Tamo guna) is that it may or may not be of some help or harm to others but selfish interest is safeguarded.

This Satvika-Rajasika-Tamasika karmas are again classified into three categories. 1. Nityakarma, or the karma we have to do daily without lapse, like breathing, eating etc. 2. Naimittika karma that is, one we do to achieve something. 3. Kamya karma, that is we do intentionally to achieve something. Here nitya karma may be Rajasika, or satvika, or Tamasika.  Naimittika karma may be Satvika, Rajasika or Tamasika, similarly kamya karma may also be of three types.

Accordingly we get the result as Good, Medium or Bad. Here Good means Godly, Medium means Humanly and Bad means low species. According to sages like Parashara God decides Country, and time to enjoy or suffer the results of these karmas. He executes them through the stars and planets. The sages formulated many dictums to fairly understand these rules. They hope that as human beings we at least learn and use this knowledge to understand the results of Adruda karma and alter it to our benefit. Now it is on us, humans to learn and use it for the benefit of mankind.

To read next chapter click here: Theory of Deeds Part -2

Follow Me

Comments are closed.

Welcome , today is Friday, June 23, 2017