Signs part-3 Divisional charts

Categories: Signs, VedicAstrology
Comments: No Comments
Published on: July 13, 2013

Division of Signs

In Signs, we learned that the Ecliptic is divided into 12 parts, called as Sign. Each sign is assigned a shape according to the stars contained within it, and the stars reveal it’s natural effects on the sign. When we indicate the positions of the Planets in the sign, we call it Horoscope or Chart. In western astrology, it is indicated in circular form. In Indian astrology, we indicate it in different forms. All the forms are either in square or rectangular forms. The only chart we indicate in circular form is called “Sudarshana Chakra”. The various forms are described below.

Draw a square, mark the center of each line of the square and join them. Join the diagonals too. The middle top parallelogram (number 6 in the picture below) indicates the Sign which is rising at the time in figure. The remaining signs are indicated in triangles and parallelograms anti-clockwise. Since the Earth is rotating anti-clockwise, the signs are also indicated anti-clockwise. Since Rising sign, that is indicated at the top, is not fixed, it is called “sayana” (moveable) system or commonly called as North Indian style. E.g. If Virgo is rising at the time, the chart will be written like this as below. Virgo is represented by 6 and 1 corresponds to Aries, 2 to Taurus etc. Note that since the Rising sign is not fixed, the numbers in the picture below will change based on the Risiging sign (which takes the place of 6) and the rest of the signs are indicated in order in the anti-clockwise direction. The numbers correspond to Aries as 1 and Pisces as 12.


In Bengal it is written like this.


In Orissa it is written like this.


Sudarshana Chakra is written like this. Here along with signs chart, two more outer circles are created to represent the Moon sign chart and Sun sign Chart. The inner most circle is the rising sign circle. Here again, 6 is the Rising sign in this example and is represented in the position below the Moon. The numbers in the Sun and Moon circles are based on where Sun and Moon as positioned.


Western chart looks very similar, however, they only use Sun sign chart or circle. The moon circle and rising sign circles are not used. All the above style charts are known as “Sayana” (moveable sign) charts.

South Indian style Chart is written in square shape but here the signs have fixed compartments. So it is called “Nirayana” (fixed) style. Aries is always represented in the upper left corner as shown below. Signs are indicated clockwise here. This is because, this is a fixed chart and Polaris (Dhruva nakshatra) is used as the starting point and hence the signs appear clockwise starting from Aries (Mesha).


Here we must remember that only the style of drawing the chart is different, but there in no difference in arc (30 deg) or direction of the signs, hence the predictions will not change no matter which chart is used. Because planets are indicated according the stars present in a particular sign. In Sayana style though the rising sign is indicated at the top, it does not mean that,  that sign indicates north as it is in convention now.

The arc of a sign is 30 deg. Even if we consider Earth is at the center, Ecliptic is millions of miles away from it. So the length of the arc is thousands of miles. A planet moving on the arc could not effect the same influence throughout the arc. Our astrology recognizes 27 stars around the ecliptic which has influence on us. So influence of each star is 13-20 deg of arc. But scientifically each star width cannot be more than 2-4 deg of arc because of vast distance. But here we must remember that our saints considered that their influence can be up to 13-20 of arc, for mere convenience of imagination and calculation. A planet traversing from 1 to 13 deg of arc cannot have the same influence throughout the arc.

Let us explain this by the following experiment. Take three focused torches of different colors. Place it side by side. If a man is asked to walk across it slowly, when he is at the edge of one torch moving into the next torch, he will be seen with different colors with different intensity. Similarly we must remember that signs are the imaginary compartments in space. Actual influence of light there is varying continuously.  So to judge the actual influence of planets in a sign, signs are divided into Divisions. We consider 16 of them are important but normally use 20 of them. Now let us introduce the names of these divisions and understand their use. How to cast these division charts will be discussed with casting of horoscopes, later.

SL NO Name Degrees in a Sign Utility
1 Hora Chart 15˚-0ʹ deg. (divide sign in 2 parts) Delineate wealth and trait
2 Drekkana Chart 10˚-0ʹ (divide sign in 3 parts) Relation with brothers, Perseverance, Nature of Death, Next birth
3 Chaturthamsha Chart 7˚-30́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́́ʹ (4 divisions) Comfort, Immoveable property
4 Panchamasha Chart 6˚-0ʹ (5 divisions) Luck, Pre privilege
5 Shashtamsha Chart 5˚-0ʹ (6 divisions) Diseases
6 Saptamasha Chart 4˚-17ʹ-8.57ʹʹ (7 divisions) Regarding progeny
7 Astamasha Chart 3˚-45ʹ (8  divisions) Accidents, Death, Loss.
8 Navamsha Chart (Dharmamsha) 3˚-20ʹ (9  divisions) Spouse, Marital life, General matters
9 Dashamamsha Chart (Karmamsha, Swargamsha) 3˚-0ʹ (10 divisions) Job, Honour
10 Ekadashamsha Chart (Rudramsha) 2˚-43ʹ-48ʹʹ (11 divisions) Profit, Relief from disease
11 Dwadashamsha Chart 2˚-30ʹ (12 divisions) Father, Mother, Parents
12 Shodashamsha Chart (Kalamsha) 1˚-52ʹ-30ʹʹ (16 divisions) Moveable property
13 Vimshamsha Chart (Upasanamsha) 1˚-30ʹ  (20 divisions) God to be worshiped, success in it.
14 Chaturvimshamsha (Siddhamsha) 1˚-15ʹ  (24 divisions) Perfection, Higher education.
15 Bhamsha Chart (Nakshatramsha, Saptavimshamsha) 1˚-6ʹ-4೦ʹʹ (27 divisions) Fitness, Weakness
16 Trimshamsha Chart 1˚-0ʹ (30 divisions) Trait, Sins
17 Khavedamsha Chart 0˚-45ʹ (40 divisions) Good and Bad events of life
18 Akshavedamsha Chart 0˚-40ʹ (45 divisions) Traits and nature
19 Shastyamsha Chart 0˚-30ʹ (60 divisions) All Areas of life
20 Nadi Amsha Chart 0˚-12ʹ (150 divisions) Luck and misfortune

Follow Me

No Comments - Leave a comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome , today is Friday, June 23, 2017