We have studied how to identify the correct directions in our site. Now let us try to understand what are the information’s we should know before going to design our building. The line which divides the site into North and South is known as Brahma sutra. The line dividing it East and West is known as Yama sutra. Two diagonal lines are known as Karna sutra. The lines dividing the 45 degree angle between main and sub directions are known as Paryantha sutra. A circle, encircling the whole site is known as Naga sutra. Half  0f karna sutra joining center of the site, to north east is known as jalasutra. Similarly joining North West is Vayu sutra. According to tatvas these half diagonal lines are named. All these names are just an arrangement to identify the interior of the site.

The diagonal line divides the Sub direction.  Eastern side of the North-East is known as East of North East. Similarly Northern side of the North –East is known as North of North East. Similarly all divisions of the Sub divisions are identified with the main directions attached to it.  Now let us under stand these main and sub directions are governed by which of the planets known as “Grahadhipathis”, and the Deity known as “Dikpalas”.

Direction Planetary lords Governing Deity /Dikpala
East Sun Indra ( King of Gods)
South East Venus Agni
South Mars Yama ( god of death)
South West Rahu Niruti ( God of destruction)
West Saturn Varuna( God of Water)
North West Moon Vayu
North Mercury Kubera( God of wealth)
North East Jupiter and Ketu Shiva (God of protection)
Center Brahma-Vishnu( Creator)


By knowing these planetary lords and Governing Gods for directions we will be able to judge, which are the beneficial directions. Here we can easily understand that if there is a cut in any of the direction we are loosing the blessings of that particular Deity  and planet.  That is why Vaasthu Shastra insists that your foundation must be square or rectangle. Building must be started from North East corner. We should remember that if our building is cut or elongated in any direction, the balance is lost. To judge this more precisely length and breadth of the site is divided into 9 equal parts. If we consider Eastern side as breadth and Northern side as Length. Breadth wise these nine divisions are allotted to 9 planets like this. East of North East to East of South East is allotted from Sun to Ketu. Length wise North of North East to North of North West is allotted to 9 planets again from Sun to Ketu. Similarly Length is allotted from South of South East to South of South West from Sun to Ketu. And Breadth from West of North west to West of South West is allotted from Sun to Ketu.

Similarly in Each direction Site is divided into 4 parts and considered as exalted and debilitated places. They are like this. It is used while placing the doors.

Divisions in Directions Places
East of North East first division. Debilitated
East ( From North East) second division Exalted
East ( From North East ) third division. Debilitated
East ( From North East ) Fourth division. Debilitated
South of South East first division Debilitated
South ( from South East) second division. Exalted
South (From South East) third division. Debilitated.
South (from South east) fourth division. Debilitated
West of South west first division. Debilitated
West (from south west) second division. Debilitated
West (from south west) third division. Exalted
West ( from South west ) fourth division. Debilitated.
North of North west first division. Debilitated.
North (from North west) second division. Debilitated.
North (from north west) third division. Exalted.
North (from north west) fourth division. Debilitated.

division of Directions-2

Here we should remember that East of North East and North of North East comprise the same division. Similarly in other corners also. In all directions, division of Mercury is considered as good. Divisions of Sun and Moon are not considered as bad even though debilitated places. These should be kept in mind while designing the Main door and interior room doors.

The 9 divisions divide the site into 81 parts. Each division therefore has the lordship of two planets. For e.g. In first column of the South of South west third division has the lord ship of Ketu and Venus. Place consisting of Each column and Row divides the site into 4 pathways. Called parikrama or Veethi. First Veethi is called Pishacha Veethi. 2nd Veethi is called Human or Maanushya Veethi. 3rd Veethi is called God or Deva veethi. 4th Veethi is called Creator or Brahma Veethi.

Normally for Temples and for palacial building instead of 9 18 divisions are made. Width of each divisions called “Tala” It is normally equal to the height of the owner. It can be adjusted according to the requirements of the building. In this case 9 patha ways are formed. They are called 1. Pishacha veethi. 2. Deva veethi. 3. Kubera veethi 4. Yama Veethi. 5. NagaVeethi 6. Jala Veethi 7. Agni Veethi. 8. Ganesh Veethi. 9. Brahma Veethi.  Out of these Pishacha Veethi, YamaVeethi, Naga Veethi, Agni Veethi are considered inauspicious. No foundation or any construction should not come in these Veethis.


If we consider the whole site as Human body, the division in which the balance is not maintained, that part of the body or the member of the family will suffer according to the Astrological principals. So it is very important to design the building so that balance is not lost in any part of the site. But unfortunately present day architects either not believe in this Shastra or not know the principals of Vaasthu Shastra. Most of the Vaasthu experts are also not experts in Astrology. So people will not get the proper guidance. More over if good period is running in the horoscope of the Owner these Vaasthu defects are not all that strong to harm him or his family members. So some people think that Vaasthu is not a real science. But they forget that if the bad time comes in horoscope, this Vaasthu defect harms them doubly. Good period cannot be there for ever, in any bodies horoscopes. But Building once constructed remains for 100 of years.

Indian measures though accurate are not universal. They are used to, use the height of the owner for length, called it Danda. It is also equal to the length of his arms when stretched out. The length from the bottom of his elbow to the tip of the middle finger is known as cubit. Four cubits make one Danda. when fingers folded and thumb opened up gives the measure known as fist or Musthi. Angula is breadth of the middle part of the middle finger when fingers folded.

But using these measures they used to get smallest and largest measures. They have also tried to universalize these measures it is like this.

Name Measure
1 Paramanu The smallest particles that can be seen when light passes through a hole
8 Paramanu 1 tip of the hair.
8 tip of the hair 1 knot.  (Nit)
8 knot 1 yuka or louse
8 yuka 1 well grown barli corn.
8 Barli corn 1 Angula( ¾ of eglish inch. )
24 Angula
  1. cubit
4 Cubit
  1. Danda ( height of a person)

They have also prescribed how Cubit is to be prepared, its length, breadth, and how to mark it etc. But it is not important now because we have Universal measures. We can use the Universal measure,  following the old principals for designing.